The Arizona Technology Council and the Arizona Commerce Authority have honored 12 of the top legislators who embrace technology and help strengthen the industry in the state.

“These distinguished state leaders understand the importance of technology to the future of Arizona,” said Steve Zylstra, president and CEO of the Arizona Technology Council, in a statement. “We applaud each of them for their willingness to work tirelessly to strengthen policies that create jobs and educate our technology workforce.”

Arizona Commerce Authority President and
CEO Sandra Watson said the chosen legislators “have all helped spearhead legislation that is designed to help strengthen and expand Arizona’s technology sector and the overall economy.”

The awards to these 12 lawmakers will be among those handed out at the 10th annual Governor’s Celebration of Innovation awards, presented by Avnet Inc., Nov. 14 at the Phoenix Convention Center.

Here are the winners:

Rep. Heather Carter from District 15, an Arizona State University clinical associate professor, has successfully sponsored some of the most important pieces of legislation to improve the interaction between technology and classroom learning.


For the original article and full listing of recipients click here.